Home » Other » Client Tools » Help with tnsname.ora (Oracle client 12c)
Help with tnsname.ora [message #678865] Fri, 17 January 2020 13:37 Go to next message
dtran
Hello,
I am new to Oracle and I would like to seek your help and expertise regarding the tnsname.ora file. I have a very simple visual basic program running in window 8 that I have to maintain , and all it does is to connect to Oracle database. The other coder before me said that I need to have the tnsnames.ora file at C:\Oracle\Client\NETWORK\ADMIN

Now we are doing an upgrade to window 10 in a new machine, and I need to run the same visual basic program in the new window 10 machine.
I just downloaded an Oracle Client 12c to my window machine, and I just installed it. The oracle installer said the Oracle base directory is installed at D:\app\client\Tom,
and the Oracle Home directory is at D:\app\client\Tom\product\12.2.0\client_1

In the Oracle home directory, I see that I have the tnsnames.ora file located inside of the D:\app\client\Tom\product\12.2.0\client_1\network\admin.

My question to you is that since the visual basic program said that I need to have the tnsname.ora in the C:\Oracle\Client\NETWORK\ADMIN but now I am having it at
D:\app\client\Tom\product\12.2.0\client_1\network\admin\tnsname.ora. So could I simply copy just only 1 file namely the tnsname.ora from D:\app\client\Tom\product\12.2.0\client_1\network\admin\ to a new created directory called C:\Oracle\Client\NETWORK\ADMIN ? Would it work or do I need to do something else?

Thank you so much in advance for all of your helps.

Tom

[Updated on: Fri, 17 January 2020 13:42]

Report message to a moderator

Re: Help with tnsname.ora [message #678866 is a reply to message #678865] Fri, 17 January 2020 14:22 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator

Your Visual Basic code does not need to know where the tnsnames.ora is located.