Home » Infrastructure » Unix » Running sql script on UNIX
Running sql script on UNIX [message #98006] Wed, 15 October 2003 14:15 Go to next message
rachana
Hi All,
I have a sql script (a report) that I want to run on a UNIX server. I will be running the script on the UNIX server, I will be logging into SQLPLUS, and connecting to an reporting (oracle) database that is on a windows NT server.
Now, I am fairly new to this. I have got access to the UNIX server and have reflections installed. Here are my questions-
1. Do I need to have sqlplus installed on the UNIX server or on the WIndows NT (Reporting database) server?
2. How do I check to see if the UNIX server already has the sqlplus installed?
3. what needs to be done if the UNIX server does not have the sqlplus installed?
thanks.
Re: Running sql script on UNIX [message #98007 is a reply to message #98006] Wed, 15 October 2003 15:57 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Manish
>1. Do I need to have sqlplus installed on the UNIX >server or on the WIndows NT (Reporting database) >server?

Yes u need to have the client installed on the unix machine, this should also includ net8 ( the networkign layer of Oracle.)

>2. How do I check to see if the UNIX server already >has the sqlplus installed?
>find / -name sqlplus -print 2>/dev/null

if this doesnt return anything then sqlplus is not installed in your environment

>3. what needs to be done if the UNIX server does not >have the sqlplus installed?
Get the media (CDROM) and install the same.

you will have to setup the TNSNAMES to connect to your database on the windows machine.

Manish
Need help: Running sql script on UNIX [message #98008 is a reply to message #98007] Thu, 16 October 2003 10:03 Go to previous messageGo to next message
rachana
Thanks Manish. I found where sqlplus is on the Unix box, but get an error when I execute it. Also, I get a different message, when I execute it from my home directory. Can someone help me with this? Thanks!